Unit I

Design of gears  Spur. Helical. Bevel. Worm and worm wheel.

Unit II

BIS standards for gear design.

Unit III

Force analysis.

Unit IV

Design of cams  Tangential and Polynomial cams.


1. BIS Standards.
2. Maitra, G.L., Hand Book of Gear Design, 2nd ed., Tata McGraw-Hill, 2005.
3. Merritt, H.E., Gear Engineering, A. H. Wheeler & Co. Pvt. Ltd., 1984.