The Department of Physics is moved to Science Block (OJAS) and is situated in the EAST wing. It has been one of the major Departments of NITT with its accomplishment in both teaching and research.  

The Department offers credit based courses in basic Physics to undergraduate I year engineering (B.Tech.) students and credit based postgraduate programmes viz., Master of Technology (M.Tech.) in (Non Destructive Testing) (NDT) (accredited by National Board of Accreditation (NBA)) , Master of Science (M.Sc.) in (Physics) and also electives to both UG and PG.

The Department is equipped with different laboratories viz., XRD Lab, Thin-film Lab, Biomaterials Lab, Material Processing Lab, Fiber-Optic Sensor Lab, Nanomaterials Lab, Thermal Lab, VSM Lab and Advanced Materials Lab for research activities. In addition, the Department comprises I B.Tech. (Physics) Lab, M.Sc. (Physics) and M. Tech (NDT) Lab for under-graduate and post-graduate students. 

The Department is strengthened with 13 Faculty Members (4 – Professors, 9- Associate Professors) and 5 non-teaching Staff. At present, 85 research scholars are pursuing their Ph.D. degree. The R&D activities has gained momentum with funding from various agencies.

The Department is sponsored under “Fund for  Improvement  of   S & T Infrastructure in Universities and Higher Educational Institutions  (FIST)” of Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India. 

B.Tech Lab(new) Inauguration